Australia Wins Rugby League World Cup

By Ryan White Updated: June 2023

Australia beat Samoa 30-10 in a thrilling final. Over 67,000 fans were at Old Trafford to watch a spirited Samoa attack. The Kangaroos scored first. Australia dug deep and showed they are worthy winners of this competition. It was a wonderful end to a great tournament as both sides fought til the end.

The eyes of the rugby world were on the United Kingdom between October and November, as England played host to the Rugby League World Cup. It will be a historic edition of the competition, as, for the first time, the women’s and wheelchair matches were played across the same period.

It is expected to be one of the most exciting rugby events in decades, and you can learn more about the competition right here. Australia has made it to the semi-finals.

Shocking Semi-Finals Exits

Both Semi-Finals were close victories. Heroic Australia came from behind and beat New Zealand 16-14 at Elland Road. Cameron Murray scored the only try in the second half. It was a dramatic match that had everything from offside goals to penalties. All thoughts turn to Manchester now and Samoa is the surprising opponent in the finals next Saturday. Samoa did challenge England. It was not just the golden goal that gave them victory. They were worthy winners.

Australia Top Group B

A comfortable win over Italy means that Australia is top of group B. They will advance to the square finals of this competition. With 12 tries this Australian side is doing everything right in terms of tactics, grit and determination.

Australia Spank Scotland

With 15 tries the Kangaroos defeat Scotland 84-0. On a wet Friday night in Coventry, they opened the scoreline after five minutes. By half-time, it was 40-0. Josh Addo-Carr scored four tries and Cambell Graham bagged three. Hopefully

Kangaroos get off to a great start

Australia has beaten Fiji 42-8 in their opening match. Within 30 minutes, they had a 20-point advantage once Nanai had levelled Fiji’s valiant attempt. The beleaguered side just lost 50-0 to England. This World Cup is going to be thrilling.

What Is Rugby League?

Rugby league is one of the most popular forms of rugby in the world, with the sport gaining in popularity in North America, especially over the past ten years. However, it remains most popular in northern England, southern France, and Oceania.

This sport will see two teams of 13 compete on the rugby field, trying to score tries to outscore their opponent. Field goals can also be scored to add points to a team’s tally, while conversions are also awarded after a team has scored a try.

When Is The Rugby League World Cup?

It has taken a long time for the Rugby World Cup to be staged, as it was previously held in 2017. The event was meant to take place last year, but it was subsequently delayed after Australia and New Zealand withdrew from the competition due to travel restrictions imposed due to COVID-19. However, this year the event will be staged, with the United Kingdom playing host to the event.

A total of 16 teams will be involved in the competition, with a total of 31 matches being played. The event officially gets underway on October 15, with the final taking place on November 19. A total of 18 different stadiums will be used around the United Kingdom, including Headingley Stadium in Leeds, Kingston Park in Newcastle, and Brammall Lane in Sheffield. The final of the event will be held at Manchester United’s Old Trafford.

Rugby League World Cup History

The Rugby League World Cup is one of the most prestigious events on the calendar. It has been staged annually since 1954. However, the idea of a World Cup pitting together the best nations on the planet was first discussed in the 1930s. But, the plan didn’t materialise fully until it was first staged just over 20 years later.

The winning team at the World Cup is awarded the Paul Barriere Trophy. That honour is named after the French Rugby League President, who was in office between the 1940s and 50s. The tournament has been hosted in Europe on nine occasions, with England hosting the event for the sixth time in 2021. Australia has hosted the event on five previous occasions, while France, which hosts the next World Cup in 2025, has previously hosted the World Cup on two occasions. 

World Cup Rugby

Which Teams Are Involved?

A total of 16 teams will be competing at the World Cup this year, with all teams involved being separated into four groups for the first stage. Group A will pit hosts England against Samoa, France, and Greece, while Australia will be involved in Group B alongside Fiji, Scotland, and Italy. New Zealand will be the clear favourite to progress out of Group C, as they are joined by Lebanon, Jamaica, and Ireland.

The final group is Group D, which is made up of the Cook Islands, Wales, Papua New Guinea, and Tonga. Only the top two teams from each group progress through to the next stage, with the group winners facing runners-up in the quarterfinals. The final four teams then compete in the semi-finals, before the final two teams then compete in the World Cup final at Old Trafford on November 19, 2022.

Australia At The Rugby League World Cup

Australia is one of the most dominant teams in the history of the Rugby League World Cup. No nation has been as successful in the history of the competition, with Australia having landed the top prize on a staggering eleven occasions. Australia has also finished as the runner-up on three occasions, with their most recent defeat in the final coming in 2008.

In total, they have also finished in the top four in all 15 previous editions of the Rugby League World Cup. The nation comes into this year’s event having won the previous two editions of the competition, including in 2017 when Australia beat England 6-0 in the final. Furthermore, Australia has reached the final in each of the previous 14 editions.

Leading Contenders

Realistically, there are three leading contenders to win the Rugby League World Cup this year. Australia is the main contender, as they look to win the competition for the third event running. The Aussies have a reliable coaching set-up, and their case is only made stronger because only five nations have ever beaten Australia in a test fixture.

England will have the home advantage, and they will be looking for a first victory. However, Great Britain has won the World Cup on three previous occasions. England should safely make it through the group, but a charge towards World Cup glory remains unlikely.

New Zealand should also be close at the World Cup this year, but the dominance that they have enjoyed in union hasn’t been echoed in league. Like England, they should cruise through the group stages, but whether they have the quality to pose serious questions of Australia remains increasingly unlikely.

Betting Options

Betting on the Rugby League World Cup will be extremely popular throughout the competition. Online sports bets can be placed on the outright winner of the competition before the event gets underway. Meanwhile, there will be a wide selection of individual match betting options, such as match winner, over/under points, and first try scorer.